Skip to main content

Early Years Foundation Stage

The curriculum is divided into seven areas. There are three prime areas and four specific areas.
Prime Areas

Prime Areas
• Personal, Social and Emotional Development
• Communication and Language
• Physical Development

Specific Areas
• Literacy
• Mathematics
• Understanding the World
• Expressive Arts and Design
In the Foundation Stage children learn best through play with a combination of child initiated and adult initiated activities. These are carefully planned both inside and outside to support children’s learning in all seven areas. Through a balance of play based activities and teacher input we build on each child’s existing knowledge and skills to take them forward to reach their full potential.